Trio con Brio Copenhagen

Sunday, March 13, 2022
No charge for Four Arts members

Acknowledged as one of the finest piano trios in the world, the Trio con Brio Copenhagen is about to enter their 21st season. Founded at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna in 1999, the trio is now based in Copenhagen and tours extensively worldwide.

The Trio was born out of an idea of the coming together of ‘musical pairs’ – of the two Korean-born sisters, Soo- Kyung Hong (cello) and Soo-Jin Hong (violin), with Soo-Kyung and her husband, Danish pianist Jens Elvekjaer. They quickly gained a reputation for their fresh and contemporary approach to the core repertoire and won almost all of the major competitions for piano trio. Today they are regularly heard at the world’s leading venues and concert series, among them, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Wigmore Hall, Berlin Pierre Boulez-Saal, the Concertgebouw and many more.

Leading composers have dedicated works to the Trio, including Per Nørgård, Bent Sørensen’s and Sven-David Sandström. And reviews are fulsome. “One of the greatest performances of chamber music I’ve ever encountered,” praised American Record Guide. Gramophone wrote, “Superb…Any group would be hard-pressed to imitate this blend of verve and poise…” The trio’s most recent recordings of the complete Beethoven piano trios were received with the highest critical acclaim, with comments such as “… I was struck… by the feeling of improvisation; of three players moving forward together into a strange and wonderful new world…” (Gramophone). The Trio are artistic directors of the Copenhagen Chamber Music Festival, the Chamber Music Festival on Lundsgaard Estate in Kerteminde and the Hellerup Chamber Music Society in Copenhagen. Soo-Jin plays an Andrea Guarneri violin, Soo-Kyung plays a Grancino cello, and Jens is Denmark’s first Steinway Artist. Both string players are endorsed by Jagar Strings and Thomastik-Infeld Vienna.


Beethoven Piano Trio in E flat major op. 70/2
Poco sostenuto – Allegro
Allegretto ma non troppo
Finale. Allegro
Prokofiev Excerpts from 10 Pieces from ‘Romeo and Juliet’ op. 75 (1937) arr. for piano trio by Trio con Brio Copenhagen
Young Juliet
Montagues and Capulets
Shostakovich Piano Trio in e minor op. 67
Andante – Moderato
Allegro con brio
Allegretto – Adagio

Send this to a friend